Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Visitor From NEW CALEDONIA...

I received another surprise visitor to my Blog today..., the 125th country to my Blog - from a country called NEW CALEDONIA.

Googled through the internet and here's what I found:
New Caledonia (French: officially: Nouvelle-Calédonie; colloquially: (la) Calédonie; popular nickname: (le) Caillou), has a special status of sui generis collectivity of France. It is located in the subregion of Melanesia in the southwest Pacific. It comprises a main island (Grande Terre), the Loyalty Islands, and several smaller islands. It has a land area of 18,575.5 square kilometres (7,172 sq mi). The population was estimated in January 2009 to be 249,000. The capital and largest city of the territory is Nouméa. The currency is the CFP franc.
Since 1986 the United Nations Committee on Decolonization has included New Caledonia on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories. New Caledonia is set to decide whether to remain within the French Republic as an autonomous overseas collectivity or become an independent state in a referendum to be held between 2014 and 2019.
Nouméa, the capital, is also the seat of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (formerly the South Pacific Commission), an international organization.
In July 2010, New Caledonia adopted the Kanak flag, alongside the existing French tricolor, as the dual official flags of the territory. The adoption made New Caledonia one of the few countries or territories in the world with two official national flags.

New Caledonia is located around 21°30′S 165°30′E / 21.5°S 165.5°E / -21.5; 165.5 in the southwest Pacific Ocean, approximately 1,200 kilometres (750 mi) east of Australia and 1,500 kilometres (930 mi) northwest of New Zealand. The island nation of Vanuatu lies to the northeast. It lies between latitudes 19° and 23°S, and longitudes 163° and 169°E.
New Caledonia is made up of a main island, the Grande Terre, and several smaller islands, the Belep archipelago to the north of the Grande Terre, the Loyalty Islands to the east of the Grande Terre, the Île des Pins (Isle of Pines) to the south of the Grande Terre, the Chesterfield Islands and Bellona Reefs further to the west. A territorial dispute exists with regard to the uninhabited Matthew and Hunter Islands, which are claimed by both France (as part of New Caledonia) and Vanuatu.
The Grande Terre is by far the largest of the islands, and the only mountainous island. It has an area of 16,372 square kilometres (6,321 sq mi), and is elongated northwest-southeast, 350 kilometres (220 mi) in length and 50 to 70 kilometres (31 to 43 mi) wide. A mountain range runs the length of the island, with five peaks over 1,500 metres (4,900 ft). The highest point is Mont Panié at 1,628 metres (5,341 ft) elevation. The total area of New Caledonia is 19,060 km2 (7,360 sq mi), 18,575 km2 (7,172 sq mi) of those being land.
New Caledonia is one of the northernmost parts of a (93%) submerged continent called Zealandia. It sank after rifting away from Australia 60–85 million years ago (mya) and from Antarctica between 130 and 85 mya. New Caledonia itself is separated from Australia since 65 mya, and subsequently drifted in a north-easterly direction, reaching its present position about 50 mya.

the beautiful islands..
landmark.., or rather island mark..
 lagoons and coral reef..
 another nice view...
skin diving...
local birds...
 nice beaches..
What can you say about this?
New Caledonia coins..
 local girl...

Thank you for visiting my Blog, whoever you are... 
I've learned another chapter in Geography today...
Have a nice day.....

No comments:

Post a Comment